Browse By

Shoegaze masters NEWMOON release third album ‘Temporary Light’ on 22nd March

Newmoon, the acclaimed shoegaze band from Antwerp, Belgium, have released their third studio album ‘Temporary Light’ through [PIAS] Recordings (EU) and Manifesto Records (US).

‘Temporary Light’ is full of magical moments. It weaves a sonic tapestry that harks back to the band’s roots yet retains a fresh approach that keeps their music alluring. Blending airy vocals with lush guitars, Newmoon creates an immersive sound that sweeps listeners off their feet into a striking world that feels distant yet familiar at the same time.

Joined by new drummer, Conor Dawson, album #3 marks an exciting chapter in Newmoon’s evolution. The band’s signature feel for grand yet delicate melodies are enriched by Dawson’s rhythmic finesse, adding a layer of depth and musicality to their songs.

After a more melodic approach on their previous release ‘Nothing Hurts Forever’, Newmoon returns to embrace their abrasive, dreamy and ethereal sound on ‘Temporary Light’. Eight tracks that sweep from gentle melodies and catchy hooks to plush walls of guitars and pummelling drums.

“Thick layers of guitars always felt natural to us and are kind of our main thing. We wanted to explore some ideas that have been in the back of our mind ever since we started this band,” says Bert Cannaerts. “As soon as we let go of trying to write a specific type of album, the songs grew organically and everything just clicked.”

Having previously recorded “Space” and the band’s debut EP “Invitation To Hold”, Newmoon enlisted engineer and producer Thomas Valkiers again to record “Temporary Light”. Additionally, Simon Scott of Slowdive, renowned as one of the key people within the shoegazing genre, is responsible for mastering, truly elevating the sound of “Temporary Light”.