Browse By


Hard Rock Cafe® Manchester today reveals its ‘Manc You For The Music’ anniversary album in celebration of the Cafe’s 20th anniversary. The 20-track Manchester-inspired Spotify album’s final track listing features a range of Mancunian artists including Happy Mondays, The Hollies, Marcel King and Pins. Other artists featured in the digital album include New Order, Doves, Lovescene and Children of Zeus.

Fans can listen to the playlist here

The full track listing is as follows:

1. Happy Mondays – “Hallelujah” (Andrew Weatherall mix) (1989)

2. Pins – “Bad Girls Forever” (2020)

3. 808 State – “In Yer Face” (1990)

4. IAMDDB – “Shade” (2017)

5. A Guy Called Gerald – “Voodoo Ray” (1988)

6. The Ruthless Rap Assassins – “And It Wasn’t A Dream” (1990)

7. Electronic – “Get the Message” (1991)

8. Marcel King – “Reach For Love” (1984)

9. Children of Zeus – “Fear of a Flat Planet” (2018)

10. Doves – “There Goes The Fear” (2002)

11. The Hollies – “Bus Stop” (1966)

12. New Order – “Age of Consent” (1983)

13. Magazine – “Shot By Both Sides” (1978)

14. Buzzcocks – “Boredom” (1978)

15. Joy Division – “Atmosphere” (1980)

16. James – “Johnny Yen” (1986)

17. Stone Roses – “Fools Gold” (1989)

18. Lovescene – “Finally” (2020)

19. 10cc – “I’m Not In Love” (1975)

20. Elbow – “One Day Like This” (2008)

“This commemorative ‘Manc You For The Music’ playlist was a great way to celebrate 20 years since we opened the doors to Hard Rock Cafe Manchester,” said Aneta Jarzmik, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Manchester. “This selection process was not easy, but we are thrilled to honour such an eclectic group of artists from Manchester and showcase the wealth of music our beloved city has produced for all of our guests and fans to hear.” 

‘Manc You For The Music’ was curated and compiled by a panel of music professionals including writers, promoters, musicians and producers, with the public having the chance to weigh in on the final selection. The panellists included:

Nihal Arthanayake – Presenter, BBC Radio 5 Live

Jane Beese – Head of Music at Manchester International Festival

Rivca Burns – Festival Manager and Director of Sounds From the Other City Festival

Julie Cullen – Managing Editor, BBC Radio 5 Live

Andy Hargreaves – Drummer, I Am Kloot

Rob Kerford – Owner and Managing Director, Sonic PR 

Damian Morgan – Head of Careers and Industry Liaison at BIMM Manchester

Pete Paphides – Music Journalist and Broadcaster, Author of Broken Greek

DJ Paulette – Hacienda (Mcr), Glitterbox, Reform Radio, Worldwide FM

Rowetta – Mancunian Singer/Songwriter (Happy Mondays, Todd Terry, Swedish House Mafia)